Bull Models Beaverette Mk I/II

This was my favorite kit of the bunch.  The proprietor, Peter Bailey, was a delight to deal with. The kit was well-molded, had lots of interesting detail, and had three superb figures to go with the model.  It is 100% resin and hence I could put the soldering iron away.

Bull Mk I-II parts

I didn’t take any pictures of the assembly as there was nothing of particular difficulty. Everything fit fine. The only bit that was tedious was removing tiny rods from resin pour blocks with my razor saw. But I didn’t have to roll out any PE into perfect circles so I was happy.

Instead, I’ll discuss the figures.  The Beaverette had a crew of three but seats for only two so one poor guy has to stand up as behind the driver. This was going to make for a crowded compartment what with seats, legs, steering wheel, Bren gun and rear panel. Test fitting revealed that the Bren gunner would need a different arm that was closer to his side than the one provided in the kit. The driver’s buttocks and shins needing some sanding to get him to fit as far forward into the compartment so the standing guy had a place to put his feet while still allowing the rear panel to fit snugly..

Bull FiguresBull seated figure - new arm that fits Bull FigureBull Figures installedBull clamping rear panel

But, as you can see, with a little clamping, everything fit and I even managed to get the standing guy’s hand to rest on the side of the compartment as intended.

Leave a comment