Gramodel Beaverette Mk III

Apparently, Graham Baker, the proprietor of Gramodel, did the master mold for the Bull Models’ Beaverette Mk I/II so I was looking forward to his Beaverette Mk III.  While I have a lot of respect for anyone who can do masters and then cast copies from molds, there wasn’t much to the Gramodel Beaverette Mk III.

GraModel parts

The kit comes wrapped in packing material within an envelope. No instructions (not that you would need them) and no artwork or painting guide.The one thing I did like was there was an open top turret allowing me to pose a figure (not supplied). No other Beaverette supported this option out-of-the-box.  There were two downsides to this kit:

Issue #1 – The hull had many mold bubbles that needed to be filled and sanded. The primed surface accentuates the pit holes as you can see:

GraModels w molding bubbles

Issue #2 – Another disappointment were the rear “half” wheels. On one wheel, the tire was molded but the wheel rim failed to capture any resin. You can see this in the parts layout in the first photo – compare the rear wheel halves left versus right.  I thought I would give a go at molding a replacement using, as a master, the good wheel. I tried some Composimold but botched the placement of the master in two tries. Feeling disappointment with this kit anyway, I took a spare wheel of the right size from an Airfix vehicle kit and bisected it.  Good enough.

Gramodel in focus (cropped)

Leave a comment